NestyFinds

Winix Tower XQ

By the NestyFinds editorial team · Researched from manufacturer documentation, manuals and the AHAM Verifide directory · not bench-tested · Reviewed:

Winix Tower XQ
714 ft² CADR 461 cfm AHAM Verifide CARB certified Filter ~12 mo

AHAM Verifide at 461 cfm smoke across 714 sq ft — by a wide margin the largest machine in this catalogue — with a pollen CADR that runs off the top of AHAM's own scale.

Pros

  • The largest clean-air delivery in this catalogue by a wide margin: 461 cfm smoke against 353 for the next machine down.
  • Winix states the air-change basis in its own specification table — 4.8, explicitly tied to the AHAM room size — which very few brands do.
  • The pollen CADR runs off the top of AHAM's certification scale, which caps that measure at 450.
  • A washable fine mesh pre-filter, so the stage that loads fastest costs nothing to maintain.
  • Triple smart sensors with a numeric air-quality readout rather than only a colour, plus five fan speeds and a proper auto mode.
  • Both filter stages are rated at the same 12 months, so there is one replacement clock rather than two.

Cons

  • ⚠️ CARB classifies it Electronic because of PlasmaWave, and the ENERGY STAR list records a measured 1.00 ppb ozone emission. Small, but not zero — and Winix's own AT40 manages 0.00 with the same technology.
  • Winix publishes no wattage for this model. AHAM recorded 87.1 operating watts, and ENERGY STAR puts annual consumption at 486 kWh — the highest of the models here that carry an ENERGY STAR figure at all.
  • No maximum noise figure is published, only a 27 dB minimum. On a five-speed machine that is the half of the range you are least likely to live with.
  • ⚠️ Winix's own certification list for this model reads "AHAM / UL / CARB / Prop65" and does not mention Energy Star, yet the model is in the ENERGY STAR certified list. The two disagree, in the opposite direction from the usual.
  • At 30.86 lb and 31 inches tall this is furniture, not an appliance you move between rooms.
  • Whether PlasmaWave can be switched off is not stated on the pages we read, so if you want the ionising stage off, confirm before buying.

Our editorial rating, not a lab measurement. Weighed independent measurement above manufacturer claims. This model has a full AHAM Verifide set, publishes the identical CADR, and states the air-change basis in its own table — the strongest documentation position available. Size, sensors, five speeds, a washable pre-filter and a single 12-month filter clock all count in its favour. Marked down for a CARB Electronic classification with a measured 1.00 ppb emission that a sibling model avoids, for the highest annual energy consumption among the models here carrying an ENERGY STAR figure, with no manufacturer wattage published to check it against, for publishing a minimum but not a maximum noise level, and for a certifications list that omits an Energy Star certification the model actually holds.

Verdict

The Tower XQ is the biggest machine in this catalogue and the numbers hold up: AHAM measures 461 cfm smoke and sizes it at 714 sq ft, Winix publishes the same 461, and — unusually — states the 4.8 air changes per hour basis in its own specification table rather than leaving you to infer it. Its pollen CADR runs off the top of AHAM's scale, which caps that measure at 450. Two things to weigh. PlasmaWave puts it in CARB's Electronic class and the ENERGY STAR list records a measured 1.00 ppb of ozone; small, but Winix's own AT40 reaches 0.00 with the same technology, so this is a property of the machine rather than of the technology. And the running cost is real: 486 kWh a year is the highest here, and Winix publishes no wattage of its own to check it against.

Check current price for the Winix Tower XQ on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

Price, seller and package contents change. Check the variant on Amazon before you buy.

Is it the right one for you?

Who it's for

  • An open-plan living space, a large room or a small office of around 714 sq ft at a genuine 4.8 air changes an hour.
  • Anyone who has been sizing down to fit a machine to a big room and would rather have one that covers it.
  • People who want a numeric air-quality readout and five speeds rather than a three-colour light and an on-off.
  • Anyone who values a single 12-month replacement clock over staggered consumables.

Who should skip it

  • Anyone who wants a purely mechanical machine: PlasmaWave is what puts this one in CARB's Electronic class, and the pages do not say it can be disabled.
  • Anyone watching running cost closely — 486 kWh a year is the highest ENERGY STAR figure among the models we cover, about two and a half times the Blueair 311i Max.
  • Small rooms. This is a 714 sq ft machine and there is no sense paying for delivery you cannot use.
  • Anyone who needs to know the noise at full speed before buying.

Specifications

How this coverage figure is stated

4.8 air changes per hour, and Winix states the basis in its own specification table: "Clean Air Changes per Hour (Based on AHAM Verified Room Size) 4.8". AHAM's directory prints 714 sq ft; AHAM's rule gives 461 x 1.55 = 714.55; the ENERGY STAR record for the same model says 715. Winix also publishes the ladder underneath — 3,427 sq ft in an hour, 1,713 in 30 minutes, 1,142 in 20, 856 in 15 — which is the same machine at fewer air changes rather than extra capability.

Always compare two purifiers at the same air-change rate; manufacturers pick different ones and the headline square footage is not otherwise comparable.

Winix Tower XQ — documented specifications
Smoke CADR 461 cfm, AHAM Verifide Winix publishes the same 461
AHAM suggested room size 714 sq ft. Winix states the basis itself: 4.8 clean air changes per hour
CARB Certified, device type Electronic, notified 2018-12-10, executive order G-18-133
Noise 27 dB minimum. Winix publishes no maximum
Power Not published by Winix. AHAM recorded 87.1 operating watts during its smoke test
Replacement filter Filter X, 1712-0089-01 a set of two HEPA and two carbon filters
The full record: 10 more documented specifications — nothing is removed, it is just not what decides
Dust CADR 482 cfm, AHAM Verifide
Pollen CADR 450 cfm AHAM's certification scale for pollen tops out at 450, and Winix prints its own figure as ">450"
PM2.5 CADR 471 cfm, AHAM Verifide
Measured ozone emission 1.00 ppb, from the ENERGY STAR certified-products list
ENERGY STAR In the certified list at 715 sq ft, integrated energy factor 5.7 cfm/W, 486 kWh a year though Winix's own page does not list Energy Star among its certifications
Dimensions 14.6 x 14.6 x 31.3 in
Weight 30.86 lb
Filters Dual 4-stage. True HEPA and CD Carbon, both rated 12 months
Warranty 2 year
Certifications listed by Winix AHAM / UL / CARB / Prop65
8 things we could not verify — we leave these blank rather than estimate them
  • ⚠️ THE AHAM COLUMN ORDER IS DUST FIRST, THEN TOBACCO SMOKE, THEN POLLEN. The printed directory's header reads "Dust CADR | Tobacco Smoke CADR | Pollen CADR | Room Size sq FT", and the live directory labels the same fields explicitly. Reading the first column as smoke would publish the wrong headline figure and a room size that does not reconcile.
  • AHAM'S POLLEN SCALE CAPS AT 450 AND THAT IS WHY THE FIGURE LOOKS ROUND. AHAM's printed directory states its certification ranges as tobacco smoke 10 to 600, dust 10 to 600 and pollen 25 to 450. Winix prints its own pollen figure as ">450". We publish 450 as the AHAM value and say what it means rather than treating it as a measurement that happens to land exactly on a round number.
  • WHAT A PPB FIGURE MEANS IN CONTEXT. We read the whole ENERGY STAR certified list, 244 models. Of those, 201 are recorded at 0.00 ppb, 23 at 1.00, 13 at 2.00, four at 3.00, and one each at 0.92, 1.35 and 5.00. So a measurable figure is the minority case, and the values that exist are small. We report the number and the distribution; what an individual should do with it is not ours to decide.
  • WINIX PUBLISHES NO WATTAGE for this model on the page we read. The 87.1 W is AHAM's measurement during the tobacco-smoke test and the 486 kWh a year is ENERGY STAR's; neither is a manufacturer figure.
  • THE ENERGY STAR DISAGREEMENT RUNS THE OPPOSITE WAY FROM USUAL. Winix's own certifications row for this model reads "AHAM / UL / CARB / Prop65" with no mention of Energy Star, yet the model appears in the ENERGY STAR certified-products list. Elsewhere in this catalogue we found a manufacturer claiming a certification the list does not carry; here a manufacturer omits one it holds. We report both rather than resolving either.
  • WHETHER PLASMAWAVE CAN BE SWITCHED OFF IS NOT STATED on the product or filter pages we read. Other Winix models in this catalogue have a dedicated button for it. We are not carrying that across, because a control on one model is not a control on another.
  • "TRUE HEPA" AND "99.99%" ARE WINIX'S WORDING from its own specification table. We have not reproduced a filtration grade in our own voice, and no independent body we read certifies a grade for this part.
  • ENERGY STAR SAYS 715 SQ FT AND AHAM SAYS 714. The arithmetic gives 461 x 1.55 = 714.55, so the two programmes have rounded the same number in opposite directions. Nothing turns on it.

Our calculation, not the manufacturer’s

What 461 cfm of smoke CADR actually covers

Air changesWhen you want this rateRoom it suits
4.8×/hourWildfire smoke, allergy season, a room you are sensitive in720 ft²
4×/hourThe rate most allergy guidance assumes864 ft²
2×/hourGeneral freshening in a room without a specific problem1729 ft²

Worked from the CDC/NIOSH relation air changes = (CADR × 60) ÷ (area × ceiling height), assuming an 8 ft ceiling. Change the ceiling height and these numbers change. AHAM’s own consumer rule — a smoke CADR of at least two-thirds of the room’s area — puts the ceiling for this unit at about 692 ft², which is the same arithmetic at roughly five air changes an hour.

You can check this at home. In a closed room of the size in the first row, PM2.5 should halve about every nine minutes at top speed once its source stops. A monitor shows whether this unit manages that in your home. How to run the test

Ionizer and ozone

CLASSIFIED ELECTRONIC BECAUSE OF PLASMAWAVE, AND THERE IS A MEASURED FIGURE.

CARB's complete list carries "Winix | Air Purifier | TOWER XQ | Electronic | 2018-12-10 | G-18-133", and separately "WINIX | XQ Pro | XQ Pro | Electronic | 2021-05-27 | G-21-203". Electronic does not mean the machine is an ozone generator: it means California's certifier identified a component capable of producing ozone and therefore TESTED it against the state's emission limit, which it passed.

The component here is PlasmaWave, Winix's ionising stage. It is not a filter, and it is the reason for the classification. Winix's own specification table lists it under "Advanced Technologies".

The figure: the ENERGY STAR certified-products list records this model's ozone emission at 1.00 ppb. For scale, in that same list the CARB-Mechanical machines we cover are recorded at 0.00, and Winix's own AT40 — also PlasmaWave, also CARB Electronic — is recorded at 0.00 as well. So an ionising stage does not automatically produce a measurable emission, and on this machine it produces a small one.

Whether PlasmaWave can be switched off is not stated on the pages we read. On other Winix models it is a button; we are not assuming that here.

What you actually get

What the linked package includes
Capability What it needs Status
Particle filtration Dual True HEPA filters, pre-installed Included
Odour reduction Dual CD Carbon filters, pre-installed Included
Washable pre-filter Fine mesh pre-filter, built in Included
Wi-Fi, app and Alexa Winix Smart App; Alexa account Included
Auto mode with sensors Triple smart sensors, built in Included
Replacement filter set Filter X (1712-0089-01), sold separately, once a year Sold separately
Switching PlasmaWave off Not stated on the pages we read Not verified
Published maximum noise level Winix publishes only the 27 dB minimum Not verified

Package contents vary by variant and seller. Check what is in the box on the Amazon listing before you buy. “Not verified” means the manufacturer does not document it either way — not that it is missing. “Not offered” is the other thing: the manufacturer does document it, and the answer is that this model does not have it.

Replacement filter

Full filter guide

Winix Filter X for the Tower XQ

Part 1712-0089-01 / 1712-0089-03 · Twelve months for both stages together. Winix's wording: "Genuine Winix one year replacement filter set. For optimal performance, it is recommended to change the True HEPA Filters and Coated Deodorization (CD) Carbon Filters once every 12 months." One clock for both stages is the useful part. Several machines in this catalogue run a HEPA stage on an annual cycle and a pre-filter on a quarterly one, which means two purchases to remember; here the only thing on a different schedule is the washable pre-filter, and that one is free.

Which filter fits

How we researched this

Checked against the AHAM Verifide directory, CARB's certified air-cleaner list, the ENERGY STAR certified-products list and the manufacturer's own pages. We did not test this unit. Nothing here is a measurement of ours: every figure is either documented by the manufacturer or published by an independent standards or testing body, and where the two disagree this page says so.

Not verified for this model — 8 notes
  • ⚠️ THE AHAM COLUMN ORDER IS DUST FIRST, THEN TOBACCO SMOKE, THEN POLLEN. The printed directory's header reads "Dust CADR | Tobacco Smoke CADR | Pollen CADR | Room Size sq FT", and the live directory labels the same fields explicitly. Reading the first column as smoke would publish the wrong headline figure and a room size that does not reconcile.
  • AHAM'S POLLEN SCALE CAPS AT 450 AND THAT IS WHY THE FIGURE LOOKS ROUND. AHAM's printed directory states its certification ranges as tobacco smoke 10 to 600, dust 10 to 600 and pollen 25 to 450. Winix prints its own pollen figure as ">450". We publish 450 as the AHAM value and say what it means rather than treating it as a measurement that happens to land exactly on a round number.
  • WHAT A PPB FIGURE MEANS IN CONTEXT. We read the whole ENERGY STAR certified list, 244 models. Of those, 201 are recorded at 0.00 ppb, 23 at 1.00, 13 at 2.00, four at 3.00, and one each at 0.92, 1.35 and 5.00. So a measurable figure is the minority case, and the values that exist are small. We report the number and the distribution; what an individual should do with it is not ours to decide.
  • WINIX PUBLISHES NO WATTAGE for this model on the page we read. The 87.1 W is AHAM's measurement during the tobacco-smoke test and the 486 kWh a year is ENERGY STAR's; neither is a manufacturer figure.
  • THE ENERGY STAR DISAGREEMENT RUNS THE OPPOSITE WAY FROM USUAL. Winix's own certifications row for this model reads "AHAM / UL / CARB / Prop65" with no mention of Energy Star, yet the model appears in the ENERGY STAR certified-products list. Elsewhere in this catalogue we found a manufacturer claiming a certification the list does not carry; here a manufacturer omits one it holds. We report both rather than resolving either.
  • WHETHER PLASMAWAVE CAN BE SWITCHED OFF IS NOT STATED on the product or filter pages we read. Other Winix models in this catalogue have a dedicated button for it. We are not carrying that across, because a control on one model is not a control on another.
  • "TRUE HEPA" AND "99.99%" ARE WINIX'S WORDING from its own specification table. We have not reproduced a filtration grade in our own voice, and no independent body we read certifies a grade for this part.
  • ENERGY STAR SAYS 715 SQ FT AND AHAM SAYS 714. The arithmetic gives 461 x 1.55 = 714.55, so the two programmes have rounded the same number in opposite directions. Nothing turns on it.

Sources consulted

Other purifiers we have researched

All reviews