NestyFinds

Blueair Blue Pure 411 Auto

By the NestyFinds editorial team · Researched from manufacturer documentation, manuals and the AHAM Verifide directory · not bench-tested · Reviewed:

190 ft² CADR 123 cfm AHAM Verifide CARB certified Filter ~6 mo

A compact tower with an AHAM Verifide smoke CADR of 123 cfm and a 190 sq ft AHAM room size. CARB classifies it Electronic, which is a consequence of how Blueair's HEPASilent works rather than a fault.

Pros

  • The CADR is independently measured, not self-declared: AHAM Verifide at 123 cfm smoke with a 190 sq ft room size that reconciles exactly with AHAM's own 4.8 air-changes rule.
  • The pre-filter is a washable fabric sleeve on the outside of the unit, so the part that loads fastest costs nothing to maintain and protects the cartridge you do pay for.
  • Auto mode with a particle sensor is the point of this variant, and Blueair's stated approach to filter life across the range is an algorithm that counts fan speed, running time and measured pollution rather than days.
  • The cartridge is shared across the 411, 411+ and 411 Auto, so the consumable is a high-volume part rather than a variant-specific one.

Cons

  • ⚠️ CARB classifies it Electronic. It passed the ozone test and AHAM marks it as meeting ozone limits, but the electrostatic charging stage is integral to how HEPASilent filters and is not something you can switch off.
  • Blueair publishes no noise figure, no wattage, no dimensions and no weight on the pages we read — four specifications that matter on a unit meant to run continuously.
  • The pollen CADR of 96 is the weakest of its three measured figures, and noticeably below its own smoke number.
  • ⚠️ The 411 family is a naming minefield. The 411a, 411i Max and 411a Max are different machines with a different filter, and the pre-filter sleeve differs between the 411, the 411+ and this Auto.

Our editorial rating, not a lab measurement. Weighed independent measurement above manufacturer claims, and this unit has a full AHAM Verifide CADR set with a room size that reconciles with AHAM's rule. The washable pre-filter and a cartridge shared across three models both reduce running cost. Against it: no published noise figure or wattage on a continuously-running appliance, a pollen CADR well below its smoke figure, and a CARB Electronic classification that, while certified and ozone-tested, means the electrostatic stage is integral rather than optional.

Verdict

The Blue Pure 411 Auto is one of the few genuinely small purifiers with an independently measured CADR: AHAM puts it at 123 cfm smoke and sizes it at 190 sq ft, and that room figure reconciles exactly with AHAM's own arithmetic. The washable fabric sleeve is a real advantage, because the stage that loads fastest is the one you can maintain for nothing. Two things to understand before buying. CARB classifies it Electronic — it passed the ozone test, but the electrostatic charging stage is how HEPASilent works and cannot be switched off. And Blueair publishes no noise figure or wattage for it at all, which on a unit designed to run continuously is the specification you would most want.

Check current price for the Blueair Blue Pure 411 Auto on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

Price, seller and package contents change. Check the variant on Amazon before you buy.

Is it the right one for you?

Who it's for

  • A bedroom, home office or other small room of roughly 190 sq ft at a proper 4.8 air changes, where you want the unit to manage its own speed.
  • Anyone who wants an independently measured CADR at the small end of the market — there are fewer of those than the listings suggest.
  • People who will actually wash the fabric pre-filter, which is where this design rewards you.

Who should skip it

  • Anyone who wants a purely mechanical machine with no electronic stage. CARB classifies every 411-series variant as Electronic, and on this technology it is not optional.
  • Anyone who needs to know the noise level before buying: Blueair does not publish one for this model.
  • Rooms materially larger than 190 sq ft, unless you accept fewer air changes than AHAM's basis.

Specifications

How this coverage figure is stated

AHAM's own suggested room size, derived from the smoke CADR by AHAM's published rule (smoke CADR x 1.55), which corresponds to 4.8 air changes per hour. 123 x 1.55 = 190.65 and the directory prints 190. A third-party figure, not a manufacturer claim.

Always compare two purifiers at the same air-change rate; manufacturers pick different ones and the headline square footage is not otherwise comparable.

Blueair Blue Pure 411 Auto — documented specifications
Smoke CADR 123 cfm, AHAM Verifide
AHAM suggested room size 190 sq ft (equivalent to 4.8 air changes per hour)
CARB Certified, device type Electronic, notified 2020-11-24, executive order G-20-192
Filter life 6 months of operation, signalled by a red indicator
Replacement filter Blue Pure 411 Series Particle + Carbon Filter shared with the 411 and 411+
Dust CADR 107 cfm, AHAM Verifide
The full record: 4 more documented specifications — nothing is removed, it is just not what decides
Pollen CADR 96 cfm, AHAM Verifide
Meets AHAM ozone limits Yes
Filter indicator reset Hold the centre button 7–10 seconds, up to 30 depending on model
Pre-filter Washable fabric sleeve, specific to the Auto and sold separately
7 things we could not verify — we leave these blank rather than estimate them
  • NO AMAZON LISTING IS LINKED FROM THIS PAGE. The only 411 product listing we could identify unambiguously is for the PLAIN Blue Pure 411, which is a different machine: AHAM measures it at 105 cfm smoke against this unit's 123, and CARB lists them under different executive orders. Linking it would point you at the wrong machine, so the button opens a search instead.
  • ⚠️ THE AHAM COLUMN ORDER IS DUST FIRST, NOT SMOKE. AHAM's directory prints DUST CADR, then TOBACCO SMOKE, then POLLEN. We confirmed it from the printed table header and then arithmetically: AHAM's own rule is room size = smoke CADR x 1.55, and 123 x 1.55 = 190.65 against a printed room size of 190. Reading the first column as smoke would have published 107 as this unit's headline figure and a room size that does not reconcile.
  • THE 411 FAMILY HAS SEVERAL AHAM ROWS AND THEY DIFFER. The plain "Pure 411" is listed at dust 120 / smoke 105 / pollen 120 / 161 sq ft, and the 411+ (listed as JOY S) at 121 / 119 / 131 / 185. This page is about the AUTO specifically; do not carry its numbers across to the others.
  • NO NOISE FIGURE, WATTAGE, DIMENSIONS OR WEIGHT were published on the Blueair pages we read, so those fields are null rather than estimated.
  • WE DID NOT CONFIRM WHETHER A FABRIC PRE-FILTER IS SUPPLIED IN THE BOX. Blueair sells them as separate accessories and does not state on the filter pages whether one ships with the unit, so the package row says not verified.
  • THE AHAM EDITION WE READ IS OCTOBER 2023; a later re-rate would not appear in it.
  • THE CARB LIST WAS READ FROM THE FULL HTML, not from the page's rendered view. A summariser reading the rendered page reported all three of this batch's models as absent; the complete list contains all of them.

Our calculation, not the manufacturer’s

What 123 cfm of smoke CADR actually covers

Air changesWhen you want this rateRoom it suits
4.8×/hourWildfire smoke, allergy season, a room you are sensitive in192 ft²
4×/hourThe rate most allergy guidance assumes231 ft²
2×/hourGeneral freshening in a room without a specific problem461 ft²

Worked from the CDC/NIOSH relation air changes = (CADR × 60) ÷ (area × ceiling height), assuming an 8 ft ceiling. Change the ceiling height and these numbers change. AHAM’s own consumer rule — a smoke CADR of at least two-thirds of the room’s area — puts the ceiling for this unit at about 185 ft², which is the same arithmetic at roughly five air changes an hour.

You can check this at home. In a closed room of the size in the first row, PM2.5 should halve about every nine minutes at top speed once its source stops. A monitor shows whether this unit manages that in your home. How to run the test

Ionizer and ozone

CLASSIFIED ELECTRONIC, AND THAT NEEDS EXPLAINING RATHER THAN ALARMING. CARB's complete certified list carries "Blueair | Blue Pure 411 Auto | 3231101000 | Electronic | 2020-11-24 | G-20-192".

Electronic does not mean the machine is an ozone generator. It means California's certifier identified a component capable of producing ozone and therefore TESTED it against the state's emission limit — and it passed, which is what certification means. Blueair's HEPASilent works by charging particles electrostatically before filtering them mechanically, so the classification follows directly from how the technology works. AHAM's directory separately marks this model Yes in its "meet ozone limits" column.

What it does mean practically: this is not a filtration-only machine in the way a CARB-Mechanical unit is, and the charging stage is integral to how it filters rather than a feature you switch off. If you specifically want no electronic stage at all, this is not that machine. Every 411-series variant on the CARB list is classified the same way.

What you actually get

What the linked package includes
Capability What it needs Status
Particle filtration Particle + Carbon cartridge, pre-installed Included
Odour reduction Activated carbon layer, part of the same cartridge Included
Washable pre-filter Fabric sleeve — check whether one is supplied with your unit Not verified
Auto mode with sensor Built in; it is what distinguishes this variant Included
Replacement cartridge Blue Pure 411 Series Particle + Carbon Filter, sold separately Sold separately
Published noise figure Not published by Blueair Not verified

Package contents vary by variant and seller. Check what is in the box on the Amazon listing before you buy. “Not verified” means the manufacturer does not document it either way — not that it is missing. “Not offered” is the other thing: the manufacturer does document it, and the answer is that this model does not have it.

Replacement filter

Full filter guide

Blueair Blue Pure 411 replacement filter

Part "Blue Pure 411 Series Particle + Carbon Filter" · "6 months of operation", signalled by a red filter replacement indicator on the unit. Blueair does not publish an hours-per-day assumption behind the figure, so it cannot be scaled arithmetically — but on this range the indicator is doing the counting, and Blueair's stated approach on the sister 511 model is that its algorithm tracks fan speed, running time and measured pollution rather than days. After fitting a new cartridge the indicator has to be reset by hand: Blueair's instruction is to press the centre button for 7 to 10 seconds, and up to 30 seconds depending on the model.

Which filter fits

How we researched this

Checked against the AHAM Verifide directory, CARB's certified air-cleaner list and the manufacturer's own pages. We did not test this unit. Nothing here is a measurement of ours: every figure is either documented by the manufacturer or published by an independent standards or testing body, and where the two disagree this page says so.

Not verified for this model — 7 notes
  • NO AMAZON LISTING IS LINKED FROM THIS PAGE. The only 411 product listing we could identify unambiguously is for the PLAIN Blue Pure 411, which is a different machine: AHAM measures it at 105 cfm smoke against this unit's 123, and CARB lists them under different executive orders. Linking it would point you at the wrong machine, so the button opens a search instead.
  • ⚠️ THE AHAM COLUMN ORDER IS DUST FIRST, NOT SMOKE. AHAM's directory prints DUST CADR, then TOBACCO SMOKE, then POLLEN. We confirmed it from the printed table header and then arithmetically: AHAM's own rule is room size = smoke CADR x 1.55, and 123 x 1.55 = 190.65 against a printed room size of 190. Reading the first column as smoke would have published 107 as this unit's headline figure and a room size that does not reconcile.
  • THE 411 FAMILY HAS SEVERAL AHAM ROWS AND THEY DIFFER. The plain "Pure 411" is listed at dust 120 / smoke 105 / pollen 120 / 161 sq ft, and the 411+ (listed as JOY S) at 121 / 119 / 131 / 185. This page is about the AUTO specifically; do not carry its numbers across to the others.
  • NO NOISE FIGURE, WATTAGE, DIMENSIONS OR WEIGHT were published on the Blueair pages we read, so those fields are null rather than estimated.
  • WE DID NOT CONFIRM WHETHER A FABRIC PRE-FILTER IS SUPPLIED IN THE BOX. Blueair sells them as separate accessories and does not state on the filter pages whether one ships with the unit, so the package row says not verified.
  • THE AHAM EDITION WE READ IS OCTOBER 2023; a later re-rate would not appear in it.
  • THE CARB LIST WAS READ FROM THE FULL HTML, not from the page's rendered view. A summariser reading the rendered page reported all three of this batch's models as absent; the complete list contains all of them.

Sources consulted

Other purifiers we have researched

All reviews