NestyFinds

GermGuardian AC4825

By the NestyFinds editorial team · Researched from manufacturer documentation, manuals and the AHAM Verifide directory · not bench-tested · Reviewed:

GermGuardian AC4825
153 ft² CADR 99 cfm CARB certified 40–55 dB

A 22-inch tower with a UV-C lamp, rated by GermGuardian at 99 cfm smoke CADR. Its honest coverage figure is 153 sq ft — the 743 sq ft in the listings is the same machine at roughly one air change per hour.

Pros

  • GermGuardian publishes the comparable coverage figure alongside the flattering one: 153 sq ft in 12.5 minutes is 4.8 air changes an hour, and it reconciles with its own CADR. Plenty of brands here publish only the large number.
  • It publishes noise (40–55 dBA), dimensions and weight, and at 8.55 lb it is genuinely portable — the lightest machine in this catalogue by a wide margin.
  • Filter B is a high-volume part sold in four media formulations and, unusually, shared with a Black+Decker unit, so the consumable is easy to source.

Cons

  • ⚠️ THREE consumables on three different clocks: Filter B, a carbon pre-filter that GermGuardian says goes every 2-3 months, and a UV-C bulb. Comparisons against a purifier with one annual filter are not like for like, and almost nobody makes that adjustment.
  • ⚠️ CARB classifies it Electronic under an executive order from 2012, because of the UV-C lamp. It is certified and was ozone-tested. Whether the lamp can be switched off is not settled: the only wording we found is "optional UV-C light" in the manufacturer's Amazon listing, and its product page says nothing.
  • ⚠️ The CADR is GermGuardian's own for THIS model, though its siblings are certified. AHAM's live directory holds fifteen GermGuardian models, and three of them are close relatives of this one — the AC4820, the AC4825E and the AC4880G — all measured at 99 cfm smoke across 153 sq ft, which is the same smoke figure GermGuardian claims here. The AC4825 itself is not among the certified models, so its own dust and pollen numbers remain unverified even though the family's smoke figure checks out.
  • 40 dBA is its quietest setting, which is high for a small machine — the Blueair units here start in the low twenties.
  • GermGuardian publishes no wattage, and no replacement interval at all for Filter B on that filter's own product page.

Our editorial rating, not a lab measurement. Weighed independent measurement above manufacturer claims: GermGuardian is absent from the AHAM directory, so its CADR is self-declared. Against it also: three consumables on three clocks, 40 dBA at its quietest, no published wattage, no stated interval for its main filter, and a CARB Electronic classification whose UV-C lamp we could not confirm is switchable. In its favour: it publishes the comparable 4.8-air-changes coverage figure rather than only the flattering one, and at 8.55 lb it is the only genuinely portable machine in this catalogue.

Verdict

The AC4825 is the small, light, three-consumable option. Its honest coverage is 153 sq ft, and GermGuardian deserves credit for publishing that figure — as 12.5 minutes per room volume, which is 4.8 air changes an hour — right next to the 743 sq ft that fills the listings. At 8.55 lb it is the only machine here you would genuinely carry between rooms. The two things to weigh are the running cost and the lamp. Filter B, a carbon pre-filter every two to three months and a UV-C bulb are three separate purchases, which makes any comparison against a one-filter-a-year machine misleading unless you do the arithmetic. And CARB has classified every AC4825 variant as Electronic since 2012 because of that lamp: certified and ozone-tested, but not the same kind of machine as a Mechanical one, and we could not find out whether the lamp can be turned off.

Check which revision you receive

Corrected on 14 September 2026. This page previously stated that no GermGuardian model appeared in the AHAM Verifide directory. That was drawn from AHAM's printed 2023 edition, which does not list the brand; the live directory lists fifteen GermGuardian models, including an AC4825E one letter away from this one. The AC4825 itself is still not among them, so this model's CADR remains the manufacturer's own — but the surrounding claim about the brand was wrong and has been replaced with what the certified siblings actually measure.

Check current price for the GermGuardian AC4825 on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

Price, seller and package contents change. Check the variant on Amazon before you buy.

Is it the right one for you?

Who it's for

  • A small room of roughly 153 sq ft at a proper 4.8 air changes, where portability matters more than silence.
  • Anyone who moves a purifier between rooms: 8.55 lb and a narrow footprint make that realistic in a way the 24 lb Coway is not.
  • People comfortable with a UV-C stage and with budgeting for three consumables rather than one.

Who should skip it

  • Anyone who wants a purely mechanical machine. CARB classifies every AC4825 variant Electronic, and we could not confirm the lamp is switchable.
  • Anyone who wants a quiet bedroom unit: 40 dBA on low is among the loudest minimums in this catalogue.
  • Anyone buying on the 743 sq ft figure. At the air-change rate that makes machines comparable this is a 153 sq ft purifier.
  • Anyone comparing running cost on filters alone — this unit needs three separate consumables.

Specifications

How this coverage figure is stated

4.8 air changes per hour — and GermGuardian does publish it, just not in those words. Its wording is "Cleans a 153 sq. ft. room in just 12.5 minutes or up to 743 sq. ft. every hour".

Twelve and a half minutes per room-volume is sixty divided by 12.5, which is 4.8 changes an hour. So the 153 ft² IS the comparable figure, expressed as a time instead of a rate. It also reconciles with the arithmetic: 99 x 1.55 = 153.

The 743 ft² is the same machine at ONE change an hour — and GermGuardian says so itself: its listing reads "circulating air in a 153 sq. ft. room every 12.5 minutes, or once per hour in medium to large rooms up to 743 sq. ft." Both numbers are true; only one of them is comparable with the rest of this site, and it is the smaller one.

Always compare two purifiers at the same air-change rate; manufacturers pick different ones and the headline square footage is not otherwise comparable.

GermGuardian AC4825 — documented specifications
Smoke CADR (manufacturer-stated) 99 cfm GermGuardian's own figure; AHAM not claimed
Coverage "Cleans a 153 sq. ft. room in just 12.5 minutes or up to 743 sq. ft. every hour" 12.5 minutes is 4.8 air changes an hour
CARB Certified, device type Electronic, notified 2012-01-17, executive order G-12-006
Noise 40 dBA on low, 55 dBA on high
Dust CADR (manufacturer-stated) 118 cfm
Pollen CADR (manufacturer-stated) 125
The full record: 5 more documented specifications — nothing is removed, it is just not what decides
Dimensions 22.00 x 10.25 x 6.75 in
Weight 8.55 lb
AHAM Verifide No GermGuardian model appears in the October 2023 AHAM directory
Consumables THREE: Filter B (FLT4825) carbon pre-filter (FLT22CB4, every 2-3 months), UV bulb (LB4000)
Energy Star Not certified
7 things we could not verify — we leave these blank rather than estimate them
  • THE UV LAMP'S SWITCHABILITY RESTS ON ONE AMBIGUOUS WORD. GermGuardian's Amazon listing says "optional UV-C light"; its product page says nothing. "Optional" may mean switchable or may mean fitted to some variants only. We report the wording and the ambiguity rather than picking a reading.
  • THE 153 SQ FT FIGURE IS GERMGUARDIAN'S OWN, not our calculation. It publishes "153 sq. ft. room in just 12.5 minutes"; we converted 12.5 minutes into 4.8 air changes an hour, which is arithmetic rather than interpretation, and noted that it also reconciles with 99 x 1.55.
  • ⚠️ THE AC4825 IS NOT IN AHAM'S DIRECTORY, BUT THE BRAND IS — AND THIS PAGE ONCE SAID OTHERWISE. The printed October 2023 edition returned nothing for GermGuardian, which is what that earlier statement rested on. The live directory at ahamdir.com, searched on 14 September 2026, returns fifteen GermGuardian models listed to Guardian Technologies, LLC of West Chester, PA. The AC4825 is not one of them. What is there: AC4820 at 116 dust / 99 smoke / 121 pollen, AC4825E at 116 / 99 / 129, and AC4880G at 117 / 99 / 124, all sized at 153 sq ft. Note the AC4825E in particular — one letter from this model's name, and separately certified. Confirm which one you are buying.
  • NO WATTAGE IS PUBLISHED, so that field is null rather than estimated.
  • NO REPLACEMENT INTERVAL IS PUBLISHED FOR FILTER B on its own product page, which is why filter_life_months is null. The 2-3 month figure belongs to the carbon pre-filter, a different part.
  • WE DO NOT REPRODUCE GERMGUARDIAN'S CLAIMS ABOUT WHAT ITS MEDIA OR ITS UV STAGE CAPTURE. Its copy extends to biological particles; those are manufacturer statements about media on a test rig rather than about the air in a room, and repeating them in our voice is exactly what this site exists not to do.
  • THE CARB CERTIFICATION DATES FROM 2012 and covers a long list of AC4825 suffixes. We did not establish which suffix any given retail listing ships.

Our calculation, not the manufacturer’s

What 99 cfm of smoke CADR actually covers

Air changesWhen you want this rateRoom it suits
4.8×/hourWildfire smoke, allergy season, a room you are sensitive in155 ft²
4×/hourThe rate most allergy guidance assumes186 ft²
2×/hourGeneral freshening in a room without a specific problem371 ft²

Worked from the CDC/NIOSH relation air changes = (CADR × 60) ÷ (area × ceiling height), assuming an 8 ft ceiling. Change the ceiling height and these numbers change. AHAM’s own consumer rule — a smoke CADR of at least two-thirds of the room’s area — puts the ceiling for this unit at about 149 ft², which is the same arithmetic at roughly five air changes an hour. This CADR is the manufacturer’s own figure, not an AHAM Verifide measurement, so treat it as a claim rather than a verified result.

You can check this at home. In a closed room of the size in the first row, PM2.5 should halve about every nine minutes at top speed once its source stops. A monitor shows whether this unit manages that in your home. How to run the test

Ionizer and ozone

⚠️ THIS MACHINE HAS A UV-C LAMP, AND CALIFORNIA CLASSIFIES IT ACCORDINGLY. CARB's complete certified list carries a long run of AC4825 variants — AC4825, AC4825CA, AC4825T, AC4825PT, AC4825TPT, AC4825TBPT, AC4825TWPT and others — all as "3 in 1 Air Cleaning System", all ELECTRONIC, all under executive order G-12-006, notified 2012-01-17.

Electronic means California's certifier identified a component capable of producing ozone and therefore tested the unit against the state's emission limit, which it passed. It is certified, not banned. But it is a different kind of machine from a CARB-Mechanical one, and on this site the Levoit Core 400S and the Coway Airmega 400 sit on the other side of that line.

CAN THE LAMP BE TURNED OFF? THE ONLY WORDING WE FOUND IS AMBIGUOUS. GermGuardian's own Amazon listing describes the machine as having an "optional UV-C light". That reads as switchable — but "optional" can equally mean optionally fitted on some variants, and its product page says nothing either way. We are not going to resolve a word like that in the manufacturer's favour. If running without the lamp matters to you, ask before buying.

What you actually get

What the linked package includes
Capability What it needs Status
Particle filtration Filter B, pre-installed Included
Odour reduction Carbon pre-filter FLT22CB4 — replaced every 2-3 months Sold separately
UV-C stage LB4000 lamp; replacement bulb sold separately Sold separately
Replacement particle filter FLT4825 or one of its media variants, sold separately Sold separately
Air quality sensor or auto mode Not documented for this model Not verified
Ability to switch the UV lamp off Not stated by the manufacturer Not verified

Package contents vary by variant and seller. Check what is in the box on the Amazon listing before you buy. “Not verified” means the manufacturer does not document it either way — not that it is missing. “Not offered” is the other thing: the manufacturer does document it, and the answer is that this model does not have it.

Replacement filter

Full filter guide

GermGuardian Filter B (FLT4825)

Part FLT4825 / FLT4825SM / FLT4825VO / FLT4850PT / FLT22CB4 / LB4000 · ⚠️ GERMGUARDIAN DOES NOT STATE AN INTERVAL FOR FILTER B ON THE PRODUCT PAGE ITSELF. Checked 14-sep-2026: the page lists what the filter fits and states it is not washable, and gives no replacement period. What the manufacturer does document on the same product page is the interval for the OTHER consumable: the activated carbon pre-filter FLT22CB4 is "replaceable every 2-3 months". So on this unit the figure you can rely on is for the part that is not the main filter. Treat visible loading and airflow as the signal for Filter B rather than a date, and budget for the pre-filter four to six times a year regardless.

Which filter fits

How we researched this

Checked against the AHAM Verifide directory, CARB's certified air-cleaner list and the manufacturer's own pages. We did not test this unit. Nothing here is a measurement of ours: every figure is either documented by the manufacturer or published by an independent standards or testing body, and where the two disagree this page says so.

Not verified for this model — 7 notes
  • THE UV LAMP'S SWITCHABILITY RESTS ON ONE AMBIGUOUS WORD. GermGuardian's Amazon listing says "optional UV-C light"; its product page says nothing. "Optional" may mean switchable or may mean fitted to some variants only. We report the wording and the ambiguity rather than picking a reading.
  • THE 153 SQ FT FIGURE IS GERMGUARDIAN'S OWN, not our calculation. It publishes "153 sq. ft. room in just 12.5 minutes"; we converted 12.5 minutes into 4.8 air changes an hour, which is arithmetic rather than interpretation, and noted that it also reconciles with 99 x 1.55.
  • ⚠️ THE AC4825 IS NOT IN AHAM'S DIRECTORY, BUT THE BRAND IS — AND THIS PAGE ONCE SAID OTHERWISE. The printed October 2023 edition returned nothing for GermGuardian, which is what that earlier statement rested on. The live directory at ahamdir.com, searched on 14 September 2026, returns fifteen GermGuardian models listed to Guardian Technologies, LLC of West Chester, PA. The AC4825 is not one of them. What is there: AC4820 at 116 dust / 99 smoke / 121 pollen, AC4825E at 116 / 99 / 129, and AC4880G at 117 / 99 / 124, all sized at 153 sq ft. Note the AC4825E in particular — one letter from this model's name, and separately certified. Confirm which one you are buying.
  • NO WATTAGE IS PUBLISHED, so that field is null rather than estimated.
  • NO REPLACEMENT INTERVAL IS PUBLISHED FOR FILTER B on its own product page, which is why filter_life_months is null. The 2-3 month figure belongs to the carbon pre-filter, a different part.
  • WE DO NOT REPRODUCE GERMGUARDIAN'S CLAIMS ABOUT WHAT ITS MEDIA OR ITS UV STAGE CAPTURE. Its copy extends to biological particles; those are manufacturer statements about media on a test rig rather than about the air in a room, and repeating them in our voice is exactly what this site exists not to do.
  • THE CARB CERTIFICATION DATES FROM 2012 and covers a long list of AC4825 suffixes. We did not establish which suffix any given retail listing ships.

Sources consulted

Other purifiers we have researched

All reviews